Holiday Calendars

Holiday Calendars - Academic, Health System, Surgical, UPG


Workday automatically lists your specific holiday dates on your personal calendar. However, you can view the full calendars below for the Academic Division, Health System Clinic, Surgical Services (Main Operating Room and Outpatient Surgery Center Holiday Schedule), and UVA Physicians Group.

2019 Academic Division Holiday Calendar

Tuesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, March 15 Spring Break Day
Friday, May 17 Valedictory Exercises (4 hours)*
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 2 Labor Day
Wednesday, November 27 Day Before Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29 Day After Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas
Thursday, December 26 Additional Holiday Time
Friday, December 27 Additional Holiday Time
Monday, December 30 Additional Holiday Time
Tuesday, December 31 New Year’s Eve

2019 Clinic Holiday Calendar

Tuesday, January 1 New Year's Day Closed
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King Jr., Day Open*
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day Closed
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day Closed
Monday, September 2 Labor Day Closed
Wednesday, November 27 Day before Thanksgiving Open*
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Closed
Friday, November 29 Day after Thanksgiving Closed
Tuesday, December 24 Christmas Eve Close at noon*
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day Closed
Tuesday, December 31 New Year's Eve Open*
Wednesday, January 1 New Year's Day Closed

* Indicates Academic Division closed

2019 Surgical Services (Main Operating Room (MOR) and Outpatient Surgery Center (OPSC)) Holiday Schedule

Below is the Operating Room’s 2019 holiday schedule representing when the ORs will not be available for elective posting or will have reduced room availability.

DAY

HOLIDAY

MAIN OR

OPSC

OUTPATIENT CLINIC

Saturday, May 25

Memorial Day

2 elect; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Monday, May 27

Memorial Day

Closed; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Thursday, July 4

Independence Day

Closed; 5 U/E

Closed

Closed

Saturday, August 31

Labor Day

2 elect; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Monday, September 2

Labor Day

Closed; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Thursday, November 28

Thanksgiving

Closed; 4 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Friday. November 29

 

Closed; 6 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Saturday, November 30

 

2 Elect; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Saturday, December 21

 

Reg schedule (4 elect, 3U/E)

Closed

Closed

Sunday, December 22

 

Reg schedule: 2 U/E

Closed

Closed

Monday, December 23

 

Open reg sched

Open reg

Open

Tuesday, December 24

Christmas Eve

12 Elec/2 U/E

6 Elect

Close at Noon

Wednesday, December 25

Christmas Day

Closed elect/ 5 U/E

Closed

Closed

Thursday, December 26

 

20 Elec/2 U/E

10 Elect

Open

Friday, December 27

 

20 Elec/2 U/E

10 Elect

Open

Saturday, December 28

 

2 elect; 5 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Sunday, December 29

 

Reg sched: 2 U/E rooms

Closed

Closed

Monday, December 30

 

20 Elec/2 U/E

10 Elect

Open

Tuesday, December 31

New Year’s Eve

18 Elec/2 U/E

9 Elect

Open

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

New Year’s Day

Closed elect; 5 U/E

Closed

Closed

Thursday, January 2, 2020

 

Open Reg Schedule

Open

Open

Closed: Means closed for elective cases.  Urgent/Emergent (U/E) cases handled through in-house and on-call staff coverage as noted.  Non-holiday/routine coverage of U/E = minimum of two rooms, with one on call. 

Open: Denotes availability of all routinely scheduled operative suites & sites.

2019 UVA Physicians Group Holiday Calendar

Tuesday, January 1 New Year's Day Closed
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day Closed
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day Closed
Monday, September 2 Labor Day Closed
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day Closed
Friday, November 29 Day after Thanksgiving Closed
Tuesday, December 24 Christmas Eve Closed
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day Closed

Note: If you are working in a patient care area or other area critical to business operations, you may be required to work on a holiday. In this instance, your manager will discuss holiday staffing requirements with you.